The Missing Ingredient

A Food Blog

Land Inspired Thai Fried Rice November 23, 2008

Filed under: Asian,Chicken,Quick dinners,Spicy — xigumdrops @ 6:42 pm
Tags: ,

thai-fried-rice

I was feeling fried rice and was inspired by my old favorite New York thai restaurant, Land.  Fresh cucumbers and golden raisins and a hint of heat.  Keep the cucumbers sliced very thin or they will overpower the dish. I left the raisins out on my husband’s serving but I love them!  You can make it as spicy as you wish with the chili sauce.  It would be great with a few diced plum tomatoes or pineapple as well.

 

2 tbs. oil (I used olive oil but you could really use any kind)

1/2 tbs. garlic, minced

1 pound boneless, skinless chicken thighs, cut into 1-inch pieces

3 cups cooked white rice

1 red bell pepper, sliced into 1 inch x 1/4 inch pieces

1/4 large red onion, diced

Soy sauce

Serrano chili sauce

1/2 tsp. sugar

Salt and freshly ground pepper

2 eggs (I used egg substitute), scrambled (I prefer to scramble the egg in a separate pan and add later)

1/4 cup golden raisins

1 cucumber, sliced thin

 

1.  Add 2 tbs. oil and garlic to pan over medium-high heat, cook for 1 minute.  Add chicken and cook until no longer pink.  

2.  Add bell pepper and onion and cook until softened.  Increase heat to high and add “two turns around the pan” of the soy sauce and “one turn around the pan” of the chili sauce.  Please excuse the Rachel Ray reference but I forgot to measure while I was making this!  Add sugar and salt and pepper to taste.  

3.  Fold in rice and eggs and cook an additional 3-4 minutes until well incorporated and rice is slightly browned. Stir in raisins and serve with sliced cucumbers.

 

One Response to “Land Inspired Thai Fried Rice”

  1. Kira Says:

    Yum! I never would’ve thought to add raisins, but I love raisins in curries and stuff. This looks delicious.


Leave a Reply

