The Missing Ingredient

A Food Blog

Crock Pot Jambalaya August 10, 2008

Filed under: Crock pot/Slowcooker,Spicy — xigumdrops @ 4:48 pm
Tags: , ,

 

I spent about 30 minutes searching the internet for a crockpot jambalaya recipe that I had all of the ingredients on hand.  My biggest concern was the consistency of the sauce…was it going to be more like gumbo or jambalaya?  Most recipes were calling for tomato paste which I didn’t have on hand.  So I reduced the amount of beef broth to make up for and I think it worked well.  Rave reviews!  I kicked up the spice as usual and probably will add even more next time I make it.  As usual, my changes are in green.

Source:  www.recipezaar.com 

Servings:  6-8

12 ounces boneless chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch cubes

1 lb andouille, cut into chunks (smoked sausage)

2 bell peppers, chopped

2 celery ribs, chopped

1 onion, chopped  (1/2 large red onion)

3 garlic cloves, minced  (4 garlic cloves)

1 (15 1/2 ounce) can diced tomatoes, undrained (salt free version)

1/3 cup tomato paste (omitted)

1 (15 1/2 ounce) can beef broth (1/2 cup)

3 tablespoons chopped parsley

2 teaspoons dried basil

1 1/2 teaspoons dried oregano

1 tablespoon hot sauce (3/4 teaspoon Tabasco)

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1 1/2 teaspoons cajun seasoning

1/2 teaspoons cayenne pepper

dash smoked paprika

1 lb shrimp, peeled and deveined

4 cups hot steamed rice

 

1.  Place all ingredients except shrimp and rice in crock pot.

2.  Cover and cook on low 7-8 hours or on high 3-4 hours, or until chicken is cooked through.  I cooked for 3 hours on high, added the shrimp, and cooked for an additional 30 minutes.

3.  During the last 30 minutes of cooking, stir in shrimp and cook covered, until shrimp and curled and opaque.

4.  Serve mixture over hot steamed rice.

 

2 Responses to “Crock Pot Jambalaya”

  1. Tex Hurley Says:

    I have always wanted a good crock pot for Cajun. I will defnitely try this one. It looks great.

  2. Gibby Says:

    So easy to make and was delicious!!! Fiance and kids all want to know when I will make this again.


Leave a Reply

